Audio Conferencing: Toll-free #: 1-800-893-8850 Participant PIN: 8244236

<u>MINUTES</u> UAF STAFF COUNCIL MEETING #205 Friday, 19 March, 2010 8:45-11:00 a.m. Wood Center Carol Brown Ballroom

1. CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL

PRESENT

Joey Bays Dawn Dearinger Carol Shafford Chris Van Dyck Heather Leavengood Margo Griffith Sharon Corbett Katrina Paul Kayt Sunwood Pips Veazey Jennifer Elhard Jodi Baxter Ashley Munro Walker Wheeler Elizabeth Guthier Deb Hao Dayna Mackey Travis Brinzow

EXCUSED ABSENCE

Jennifer Stutesman Jenny Day Martin Klein, President, Staff Council Kathy Petersen Susie Baird Britton Anderson Nici Murawsky

OFFICERS PRESENT

Jon Dehn, President, Faculty Senate Juella Sparks, Past-President, Staff Council Maria Russell, President-Elect, Staff Council

GUEST(S)

Brian Rogers, UAF Chancellor

uncomfortable with the financing approach that the governors' put in for the Life Sciences building. There will be some cash and bond for the Life Sciences building and progress should begin as early as the summer of 2011. The legislature is looking at the feasibility studies for the community campuses funded and future y(unde)4(d a)4(nd f)3(ut)2001 Tc 0.00 be c.00 bepna be c(e)udg0.00a

ASEA currently has 50% of exempt and non-exempt about 1800 employees. The unit itself is about 2700 employees. Emily noted that Staff Council's role under the union can be anything they want to be under the bargaining agreement.

ASEA dues are on a sliding scale depending on how much you make, roughly about 1% of your income. At the <u>SFSCME</u> page you can determine your dues. The site also address where the employees dues are spent. ASEA has full time lobbyists in Juneau and Anchorage. le3e/()Tj4sagEMC e07w 6.617(BrTd ()Tj -0.001 Tc 0.002-2(A ce Tw [(sp)-4(k)-4((l)-2w,J [(AAPw [(AS)-2(ER amp(my))f])4((0)02(T)-40))4(608)) (c.3Pw -[(AS)-2(ER amp(my))f])4((0)02(T)-40))4((T)-40))4

- E. Technology Advisory Board (TAB), Brad Havel
- F. Chancellor's Planning and Budget Committee, Chris Van Dyck
- G. Student Recreation Center Board (SRCB), Carol Shafford
- H. Bunnell House Advisory Committee, Walker Wheeler and Heather Leavengood
- I. Work, Life, Balance Committee, Walker Wheeler and Heather Leavengood
- J. Staff Healthcare Committee, Ashley Munro and Maria Russell
- K. Intercollegiate Athletic Council, Pips Veazey and Heather Leavengood
- 10. DISCUSSION ITEMS
- A. UA Presidential Search

Patrick Gamble is the new UA President. Maria's search committee meeting on March 4 went well. The staff feedback was well received.

B. Announcement for Vice President Nominations

Nominations for the Vice President of Staff Council are now being accepted. The deadline is Friday, May 7, 2010 at 5:00 p.m. You do not have to be a Council member to run for this position. A person can self nominate for this position.

C. Reminder: Award Committee Process

Nichole reminded Council that award nominations close today. The Award committee is to meet Tuesday, March 23, 2010 from 3-4 p.m. in the Chancellor's Conference Room. On the committee are Travis Brinzow, Ann Hovde, Carol Shafford, Bryan Uher, Katrina Paul, Jenny Day, and Dayna Mackey.

D. Endorsement of CSW Resolution on Leave-Share

Faculty Senate passed a resolution urging to amend Leave-Share in the Board of Regents policy. Staff Council approves the resolution on Leave-Share unanimously. Staff Council's signed support is now available to <u>view</u>.

ACTION

11. NEW BUSINESS

No new business at this time.

12. ROUND TABLE DISCUSSION

13. ADJOURN